Julbord

So Saturday we went to Svea Café for Lucia celebrations and julbord. We had a really lovely time there, there is something about that place that just feels so very Swedish. Dan says it’s the cushions on the chairs, I think it might have something to do with the scent of candles and painted wood. Either way it’s really cosy, and has a bit of a Swedish atmosphere.

What I wore; my Nevermore Lovely Dress

What I wore; my Nevermore Lovely Dress. It is sightly baggy, but the belt helps, and I’ll see if I can have it taken in.

When we first arrived we were seated at the same table we sat at the last time. The two women at the table next to us had the cutest labrador puppy with them. The lights were dimmed and then the waitresses entered wearing white dresses, glitter and candles. A proper Lucia procession! They sang a few traditional songs, and we were encouraged to join in. Dan particularly enjoyed singing “tipp tapp, tipp tapp, tippe tippe tipp tapp”. After that the julbord was served, and we ate. A lot.

Proper Swedish napkin, with a classic print.

Proper Swedish napkin, with a classic print.

THE FOOD. Yes, I mixed hot and cold, don't judge me,

THE FOOD. Yes, I mixed hot and cold. Don’t judge me,

It was very yummy, and they had almost everything I love about julbord. I only really missed sylta, jellied veal. After themain course we were served Ris à la Malta and Princess cake. By the end of it we were so full we decided to go for a walk around town before returning home. It was raining a little, but it still was a very lovely, and Christmassy, evening.

 

What do you think?

