Lucia

Happy Lucia everyone! I’ve always loved this day, loved the celebrations, the saffron buns and the music. And, as a lover of attention (at least when I was little) I loved being Lucia. As a kid that always meant at least one solo performance. Ah, those were the days!

spotify:track:5pOf8H8KNhfFAuXNPB4IKL

Stjärngossarnas visa, one of my favourite Lucia songs. Even though it’s a song for the star boys I used to sing it in school, both as Lucia and as tärna, one of Lucia’s maids. There won’t be much of a celebrations today though, I think you’d be hard pressed to find a proper Lucia procession in the English south-west. However, on Saturday we will be going to the Lucia buffet at the Swedish café, and I’m really looking forward to that!

From the Lucia celebration in Uppsala Cathedral this morning

From the Lucia celebration in Uppsala Cathedral this morning

You can read more about the Lucia celebrations here.

Today I’ll probably spend most of my time reading the Marilyn Monroe biography I bought a couple of days ago, but I also need to post a special package to my family. Hopefully it will arrive before Christmas Eve.  I just need to find the motivation to get out of bed and go outside (it’s actually minus 2 degrees celsius today, with frost and everything!) Maybe Dan will be back at a decent time to give me a ride…

Peace

What do you think?

