Halloween, NaNoWriMo and productivity

Yay, Halloween! I celebrated by (temporarily) changing the blog design. I’m very happy with the pumpkin I made in Photoshop, not entirely on my own as I did trace a photo for the basic shape, but still.

My fabulous Halloween creation

I haven’t seen a trace of the monotony today, and I’ve actually been quite productive (using the word quite loosely here…), working on the blog design, knitting and brewing potions on Pottermore (proud HP nerd etc). Damn, those potions are fickle. All that time waiting around for them to brew has been quite useful for my knitting though, as I’ve managed to get quite a bit done. I definitely underestimated how long this scarf is going to be though, it is taking ages! Sorry Sara!

Tomorrow November starts, my birthday month and National Novel Writing Month. This is my first time participating in NaNoWriMo and I’m feeling slightly stressed about reaching the word count (50 000 words in 30 days, jeez!). I’ve heard it generally takes a couple of tries before you “win” though, so I suppose I shouldn’t feel too bad. I do have a vague idea of what I want to write, but I hope that most of it will come to me as I write. Either way, I’m feeling quite excited about it!

Now it’s time for me to get back to my knitting (and potion brewing). Unfortunately, I won’t be going out or dressing up for Halloween this year. We were supposed to go to Bristol again, but since Dan has a job now that’s not possible anymore. Apparently Cheltenham isn’t all that for Halloween either, so there’s no point going out here. Oh well, I’ll light some candles, admire my new blog design and stay cosy indoors, hoping that there will be some treats left after all the kids have been round.

Happy Halloween!

What do you think?

