Leaves and comedy

Today is another day as grey as steel, with hints of rain but with the trees finally starting to change for real. The air is not yet frosty and crisp, but that is just as well as my throat is still a bit sore. The brisk walk I took earlier made my cheeks burn as I came back inside, I’ve always been like that, my face flushing from every bit of exercise (I inherited that from my dad). I picked some leaves off the ground and arranged them in an autumn bouquet.

All hail our leafy owl ruler!

The rest of the day I’ll spend in bed, reading and knitting, maybe drinking some hot chocolate, until we’re off to the race course to see Dara Ó Briain! I’ve wanted to see him live for years, it’s going to be brilliant. Our seats are quite good. Thankfully (or unfortunately) they’re not too close to the stage. I don’t know if I could handle the chat. Autumn really is a good season for comedy. A couple of weeks ago we saw Simon Evans in Cirencester, and last year we saw Dylan Moran at the Cheltenham Town Hall. I hope I’ll get to see even more comedy while I’m here. There are simply way too many good British comedians who don’t tour outside the UK, so I’ll have to make the most of it.

Now it’s time to go search the kitchen for something edible for lunch. Wish me good luck!

What do you think?

